Reflections on My Fellowship Experience with Liberation in a Generation.

Liberation in a Generation
4 min readAug 19, 2024

--

By Kofi Hunt

Kofi Hunt, Liberation In A Generation Fellow

As I reflect on my time as a fellow in Liberation in a Generation’s Liberation Economy Fellowship, I am filled with a deep sense of gratitude and accomplishment. The journey was not without its challenges, but the opportunity to engage in meaningful work, connect with passionate individuals, and contribute to critical conversations around economic justice made it an invaluable experience. My economic guarantee was focused on guaranteed housing.

One of the most rewarding aspects of the fellowship was the collaborative effort to create the policy design circle centered on guaranteed housing — an iterative, imaginative experience that empowers participants to challenge and rethink oppressive assumptions and narratives. Working alongside LibGen’s Director of Policy and Research Innovation, Emanuel, and the rest of the LibGen team, we dedicated ourselves to fostering an environment where participants could freely share their insights and experiences. Our regular meetings were not just about planning but also about reflecting on how best to inspire discussions that would yield valuable perspectives. Through this process, I truly came to appreciate the power of collective brainstorming and the richness that diverse voices bring to policy design.

Ground-truthing, a core component of the fellowship, was an enlightening process in my community. I vividly remember a particularly compelling exchange between participants in my policy design circle that highlighted the complexities of affordable housing in the context of racial and economic justice. More activist-oriented members questioned whether current community efforts to sell affordable housing were genuinely accessible to low-income residents. In response, Black local leaders affirmed that not only has affordable housing been accessible, but it’s also brought up the historical context of redlining and emphasized the importance of wealth-building opportunities for Black families, who have long been denied such chances. They argued that imposing real estate models that don’t allow for private wealth accumulation, just as Black families are starting to have access to these opportunities, is inherently unfair.

This interaction underscored the intricate dynamics at play in policy discussions and the importance of considering historical context when designing solutions for the future. It was a powerful reminder that economic justice cannot be achieved without addressing the lingering effects of past injustices.

However, the fellowship was not without its challenges. Conducting this work during a presidential election year proved a significant obstacle. The heightened political atmosphere made it difficult to maintain focus and foster the level of collaboration I had hoped for. Despite these difficulties, I was grateful for Liberation in a Generation’s unwavering support and resources. The team was always available to assist, and their commitment to the fellowship’s success was evident.

Reflecting on the experience, one area where I could have better leveraged the available resources was in outreach during the town hall. I typically use databases of activists and voters to ensure broad participation, but I neglected to engage LibGen about accessing these tools. It’s a lesson I’ll carry forward in future organizing efforts, recognizing the importance of utilizing all available resources to maximize impact.

Looking ahead, I am excited to continue my engagement with Liberation in a Generation. I plan to connect with individuals in the Florida Housing Justice Alliance who share common goals and funders with LibGen. I am also committed to maintaining relationships with the leaders and community members I worked with during the fellowship. Additionally, I hope to explore opportunities for ongoing collaboration with LibGen, particularly in areas of policy design that support populist organizing.

For future cohorts, I suggest that LibGen consider providing more deliberate organizing plans and assisting in building or lending databases for outreach. These tools could significantly broaden the campaign’s reach and ensure that the voices of those most impacted by economic policies are heard and represented.

Overall, the fellowship was a deeply enriching experience. One of the most memorable highlights was watching participants engage with the artifacts we created, like the social housing mail and the “future newspaper.” These tangible elements brought the concept of a housing guarantee to life for many and opened minds to the possibilities of a more just and equitable future.

“Future newspaper” artifact from the guaranteed housing policy design circle. Designed by Lauren Williams.

In closing, my time with Liberation in a Generation has deepened my community’s understanding of guaranteed housing and strengthened my resolve to continue this important work. The connections I’ve made, the lessons I’ve helped impart, and the progress we are beginning to envision together will undoubtedly shape my future efforts in the fight for a more equitable society.

--

--

Liberation in a Generation

Dismantling America’s oppression economy to build a Liberation Economy for all people of color.